Champions League round of 16 to be Redrawn following a technical problem

On Monday, UEFA was humiliated when the Champions League round-of-16 draw had to be redrawn after the first one was ruled cancelled

0
165
Uefa champions league draw

On Monday, UEFA was humiliated when the Champions League round-of-16 draw had to be redrawn after the first one was ruled illegitimate due to a computer glitch in which Manchester United was accidentally excluded as a likely match for Atletico Madrid.

We earlier reported that Manchester United was matched with Paris Saint-Germain following Monday’s initial draw, after being handed to Villarreal, whom they were unable to face due to being in the same group as Unai Emery’s side.

According to a UEFA spokesperson, he said

Following a technical problem with the software of an external service provider that instructs the officials as to which teams are eligible to play each other, a material error occurred in the draw for the UEFA Champions League round of 16.

As a result of this, the draw has been declared void and will be entirely redone at 3 p.m. CET (9 a.m. ET/ 2 p.m. GMT).

The next team to be drawn was Atletico Madrid, and while United should have been one of their opponents, they were removed due to a computer malfunction that appears to imply they had already been drawn when they had not.

Villarreal’s official opponents were Manchester City, however, the defending LaLiga winners were pitted against Bayern Munich.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here